Add your review
Existing reviews
Awesome collection!
I wasn't one for big collections of books; I usually prefer the individual story books. BUT we received a copy of "Illustrated Fairy Tales" and my kids LOVED sitting and hearing the different stories out of the collection as well as flipping through them themselves. It was fun to discover how much they gravitate towards the actual stories and I loved how the collection had classics as well as tales we had yet to hear. For reference, my daughter is 4.5 and my son is almost 3. After discovering their love for these kinds of stories I decided to snag this one since it contained several other classics I wanted to share with them: The Gingerbread Man, Jack and the Beanstalk, etc. They've LOVED it. And it's so fun how each story is illustrated differently.. We prefer to not share witch-related stories (Rapunzel in this has one) so I altered the reading a bit to change that scenario. Really pleased with this book.
Date: 2/2/2017 6:34 PM
Great storybook
My kids love this one!  The pretty illustrations on each page keep their attention and they love the classic stories.  Both my 4 year old and my 7 year old love to hear them!  My 7 year old can even read them with a little assistance!
Date: 1/3/2018 3:00 PM
Love it!
We own both this and 10 Ten-Minute Stories. We loved the first book so much we had to buy this one as well. It doesn't disappoint. Looking forward to my 5 year old reading these stories on his own once he becomes an independent reader.
Date: 12/8/2018 2:14 PM
My kids new favorite!!
Love that there are illistrations on every page to keep my 3 year old engaged. Stories also the perfect length for bedtime. My kids ask for it all the time!!
Date: 6/20/2019 6:33 PM
Great book- beware of some illustrations
My daughter (2.5) loves these story books  and the other 10 minute stories book. We haven't read the whole thing yet but some of the illustrations, particularly in Beauty and the Beast were a bit scary even by my standards! She was excited to read that one but we quickly ended reading upon seeing the gargoyles at the Beast's Castle. we might be putting this up on a shelf until she's a bit older
Date: 5/10/2021 6:34 AM
Great collection
My 4 year old loves reading through these stories over and over again. So many times I have caught her just sitting on the bed "reading" the book to herself.
Date: 9/13/2021 9:50 AM
Packaging not safe
I like this book but the handling & packaging not safe. I received the book with torn part at the edge of the book. I can understand if it’s small but it’s big. I know shipping is fast. I buy many books everytime i order & no free shipping… i hope the price we pay is worth to spend too for these kind of books. I also know that there is a 50% replacement policy but i hope it will be totally free (and shipping!)
Date: 12/31/2021 2:16 PM
Negative, mild violence, dark
Definitely not for younger children (toddlers). I wasn't sure which stories it came with, so I figured I would take a leap and thought that they would at least be sweet versions of the stories, if anything. No. Lots of mischief, mild violence and inappropriate things. I know most of these are classic fairytales, but I guess I never realized how inappropriate they can be. I don't want to shelter my children, but I wasn't ready for some of the things in these stories yet, I guess. I may save it for when they are older, or maybe just give it away, honestly. I just overall wasn't a fan...I had high hopes...

I know these are "classics" and life isn't always sunshine and rainbows, but I guess I am not a fan of the things these stories entail and would rather read happy, fun stories for now while my children are young at least before introducing some of these things. I also prefer a story with a lesson or something educational and none of these really have those, except perhaps the Boy Who Cried Wolf which talks about how you shouldn't lie. But it's still pretty morbid for kids, in my opinion. Maybe the lesson in most of these is don't trust people...lol

Stories included with some topics that may not be best for certain ages, or families:

•Jack and the Bean Stalk: eating children/people, bones, blood, stealing

•Gingerbread Man: Mischief, borderline cannibalism (if you really think about it lol), harassment, sad ending/mild violence

•The Emperor's New Clothes: "Nudity" (it's covered but still very inappropriate!)

•Goldilocks: Misbehaving, trespassing,  

•Rumpelstiltskin: Child labor, mild violence

•The Reluctant Dragon: mild violence

•Rapunzel: stealing, kidnapping, child abuse (locking her away)

•Tom Thumb: This story isn't that bad, but does talk about the fact that he's so small her gets lost/baked into meals, snatched up by animals. It is a little funny to a point but could be scary to you get children, depending on the kid.

•The Goose Girl: Negative attitude, lying, trickery, creepy guy,

•The Tinder Box: Mild violence

Every story seems negative, a bit dark, or takes a turn for the worst. Some aren't as bad as others, but they definitely aren't fun, light, heart warming stories by any means....I figured I would give the heads up in case this information is helpful to anyone.
Date: 3/12/2022 2:20 PM