Give the Gift of Reading

Help your child with reading from an early age with the Usborne Very First Reading Set.

Usborne Very First Reading is an exciting series for children who are just starting to learn to read. The 15 book boxed set includes a helpful parents’ guide. Online resources are available at www.veryfirstreading.com.

Very First Reading is designed to bring children up to the level at which they can tackle stories in Usborne First Reading (Level One), which is part of the bestselling Usborne Reading Program.  Learn more >>>

Very First Reading Box Set

Publisher: Usborne

Bookmark and Share
Hardback 978-0-7945-2867-6 $69.99
Binding Definitions

Usborne Very First Reading is a fantastic series of fifteen books for children who are just starting to learn to read. It offers the appeal of imaginative rhyming stories and irresistible illustrations, the support of a well-researched framework, and the enjoyment of shared reading with an adult (or other stronger reader). Listen in as Peter Usborne explains this incredible program: Watch a video here! Learn more at www.veryfirstreading.com.

The Usborne Very First Reading set is an inspired series of fifteen books for children who are just starting to learn to read.

 The Usborne Reading Program

The Usborne Reading Program offers a huge choice of titles and topics for developing readers - fairy tales and folk tales, original fiction and classics, natural history, history and biography, including RE and citizenship - graded into seven levels.  Learn more about this program >>>

The seven reading levels

Fox and the Stork
First Reading Level One

Level One titles are designed to be the first real books a beginner reader will tackle, with very light support from an adult. Each book has a single story with six pages of reading-related puzzles.

Chilly Little Penguin
First Reading Level Two

Level Two stretch the reader a little more, with more advanced storylines, sentences and vocabulary, plus reading-related puzzles.

See all the Level One titles. See all the Level Two titles.
The Gingerbread Man
First Reading Level Three

Level Three titles have longer stories that encourage children to develop reading stamina. Stories have a strong element of repetition to help the reader gain confidence.

Princess Polly and the Pony
First Reading Level Four

Level Four titles build readers' stamina still further, with 48 pages devoted entirely to the story, more text on each page and more descriptive vocabulary.

See all the Level Three titles. See all the Level Four titles.
Young Reading Series One

Series One titles are for children just starting to read on their own. They use everyday vocabulary, and contain several short stories or one story divided into chapters.

Young Reading Series Two

Series Two titles are for children who are reading more confidently. Most titles contain a single story divided into chapters, with varied sentence lengths and more challenging vocabulary.

See all the Series One titles. See all the Series Two titles.
Story of Spying
Young Reading Series Three

Series Three titles are for fully confident readers who still need to gain the stamina for standard length books. They use advanced sentence structure and vocabulary, and have more complex plots.

See all the Series Three titles.  
Customers who bought this item also bought
Kane Miller
Kane Miller
Kane Miller